Crispy Yogurt Chicken

28 10 2008

I love baked chicken, but the problem I have is getting it crispy on both sides. Makes frying seem so much better, even though I’ve never fried chicken.

When I saw this recipe, I was very interested. I thought, wow, I bet the yogurt lends some moisture and the lemon might tenderize the meat a little while baking. After seeing many raving reviews on this recipe, I decided to go for it and try it! My local Albertson’s had boneless, skinless breasts at $1.68/lb too!

Source: The Pioneer Woman

Ingredients:

Chicken breasts (we used 3 chicken breasts which I split in half)
2 cups plain, unflavored yogurt (we used fat free)
2-3 cloves garlic
Parsley (I was cheap and used dried but PW recommended fresh)
The juice of one lemon
Salt
Butter
2 cups (approx.) Panko Bread Crumbs

Directions:
Begin by pouring 2 cups of plain yogurt into a mixing bowl. Peel and mince a couple cloves of garlic and add them to the yogurt. Next, chop up a small amount of fresh parsley and add to the yogurt as well. To this, add the juice of one lemon. Mix together to combine.

Rinse your chicken and pat it dry. Then, give it a nice sprinkling of salt.

In another bowl, place the panko crumbs. Add a little salt and stir together.

Butter a baking dish. (I used parchment to save calories). Place the chicken, one piece at a time into the yogurt mixture, thoroughly coating it. Then, roll the chicken in the panko. Cover each piece with bread crumbs and place in the baking dish.

Finally, place a slice of butter over the large part of each chicken piece.


I ended up double buttering some pieces because they were so large (though I split the breasts).

Cover with foil and bake in a 350 degree oven for 1 – 1 1/4 hours, removing the foil for the last 15 minutes of cooking. When the chicken is nice and golden, remove from the oven and enjoy!

POINTS*: 6 (We didn’t use all the panko and yogurt so I estimated a little bit less used for a more accurate POINTS value)

This really was crispy chicken on both sides! Just look at that color!

However, I will say, this lacked some kick in it. Next time, I’ll add a little hot sauce and Tony’s to the yogurt mixture to make it a little more Louisianian. We will definitely make this again!

I ended up making onion soup potatoes, and rebaking the leftover green bean casserole and garlic bread to complete the meal!

Actions

Information

4 responses

28 10 2008
Melissa

I have had this on my list of things to make for weeks now! I am going to try to make it this week.

29 10 2008
Blair

I’m glad you like my blog…yours is great too! Thanks for leaving a comment and leading me to your site.

30 10 2008
Alanna

This looks sooo good! I bought Panko crumbs a while back and didn’t know what to do with them. I will definitely try this recipe. Thanks!

2 03 2009
Tricia

One way that I get food crispy on both sides is by cooking it on a cooling rack over the baking sheet. The hot air cooks both sides then. I got that trick from America’s Test Kitchen/Cook’s Illustrated. I’m going to make this–it looks great!!

Leave a Reply

