Cake Batter Ice Cream!

9 06 2009

IMG_0204

I love Coldstone Cake Batter Ice Cream….there, I said it. However, that ice cream is VERY pricey and so I don’t eat it as often as I would like.

When I saw this recipe in Carrie’s blog, I immediately bookmarked it. We received an ice cream maker for a wedding gift so I knew this would be the first recipe I’d try with it!

The verdict: It’s amazingly rich like Coldstone and tastes just like it! Next time, however, I’ll experiment to make this lower in fat so I don’t kill my diet when making this!

Also, I’ve submitted this to Joelen’s monthly Tasty Tools event. This month’s tool is, you guessed it, the ice cream maker! Go check out Joelen’s blog if you haven’t before. She is the ultimate entertainer and has TONS of great recipes and ideas!

Cake Batter Ice Cream
Source: Carrie’s Sweet Life (through Delicious Meliscious)

Ingredients:

1 cup whole milk, well chilled
3/4 cup granulated sugar
2 cups heavy cream, well chilled
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
2/3 cup yellow cake mix (I used Funfetti because I like sprinkles!)

Directions:

In a medium bowl, whisk the milk and granulated sugar until the sugar is dissolved.

Stir in the heavy cream and vanilla.

Stir in cake mix, making sure there are no lumps.

Pour mixture into the freezer bowl of your ice cream maker and let mix until it has thickened (about 25-30 minutes). This was how it looked in my machine.

IMG_0188

Remove ice cream from freezer bowl and place into a separate container.

Place freezer bowl and the ice cream into the freezer to further harden.

Enjoy!!

Actions

Information

7 responses

9 06 2009
Melissa

Definitely post your lower-fat version when you do it! I’d love to know how it compares. I’ve only made this once or twice because I feel guilty over the calories! But yes…amazingly good. Now I want some šŸ™‚

9 06 2009
Carrie

I loved this ice cream!!!

9 06 2009
Joelen

This looks great! You could even submit this to this month’s Tasty Tools event where we are highlighting ice cream makers! Details are in my blog’s left sidebar…

9 06 2009
Amy

Awesome! I will totally submit it! šŸ™‚

18 06 2009
Low Fat Cake Batter Ice Cream « Skinny Food By Amy

[…] told myself that I needed to find a WAY lower fat ice cream after making the cake batter ice cream last time. I didn’t calculate the nutritional facts until recently and I was shocked. Most low-fat ice […]

18 03 2010
The Nifty Foodie » Blog Archive » Chicken Pot Pie

[…] I prefer to make some recipes verbatim at first, before experimenting and adapting. For example, the cake batter ice cream. This was my first ice cream and I wanted to ensure that it came out good! Now, after a couple of […]

18 03 2010
The Nifty Foodie » Blog Archive » Low Fat Cake Batter Ice Cream

[…] told myself that I needed to find a WAY lower fat ice cream after making the cake batter ice cream last time. I didn’t calculate the nutritional facts until recently and I was shocked. Most low-fat ice […]

Leave a Reply

